Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Borno State Water Board was established in 1977 vide edict No-7 of 1977. This Edict was repealed and the name Borno State Water Board was replaced by Ministry of Water resources vide edict of 1991. The Ministry so created lasted just for a year and in 1992 the Ministry of Water Resources was replaced by Borno State Water Corporation vide edict No.2 of 1999.

Our Vision: A Tap in Every Community and Home

Our Mission: To ensure the sustainable provision and access to quality and affordable potable water services for all citizens through investment, capacity building, partnership and a robust performance management system

Our Core Values:

  1. Excellence,
  2. Care,
  3. Teamwork and
  4. Integrity.

In the year 2001, a law to provide the establishment of Borno State Rural Water Supply Agency (RUWASSA) was enacted but it didn’t take effect then. In 2003, the Ministry of Urban and Rural Water Supply replaced the name Borno State Water Corporation. In 2004, the law to establish Rural Water Supply Agency (RUWASSA) was amended and the agency took off the following year 2005. The name Ministry of Urban and Rural Water Supply was again changed to Ministry of Water Resources in 2011 through Exco conclusion No-C3 (2011) 8.07 of 2ndNov.2011 vide gazette No48 vol.36 of 1st Dec.2011. with staff strength of 481.Throughout all the changes, the objectives of the Ministry of Water Resources remain the same. These are:

  1. To secure for the present and future generations as well as for commercial and industrial consumers, potable water for their use.
  2. To produce for distribution to all residents of the state sufficient potable water for their health and well-being and
  3. To strive to achieve a sustainable water development in the state.
  4. Toward meeting the above objectives, the function of the Ministry with her Agency can be broadly specified as follows:
  5. To control and manage all water works vested on the Ministry under the Edict.
  6. To establish, manage, extend and develop water works, as the Ministry and her Agency may consider necessary for the purpose of providing wholesome potable water for the consumption of the public that is for domestic, agricultural, commercial, industrial, scientific and other uses.
  7. To ensure that adequate wholesome water is supplied to its consumers regularly and as such charges as the Ministry may from time to time determine.
  8. To conduct or organize research in respect of water supply, water development and matters connected therewith and submit the results for the formulation of policies
  9. To develop, maintain and beneficially exploit water resources both natural and artificial.
  10. To determine rates changed in paragraph(c) above and any other services rendered such that revenue for any year would be sufficient or as nearly as may be to pay all working expenses or as payment due on loans borrowed by the Ministry and her Agency for any extension works and to do all such acts as may appear to it expedient for purpose of achieving the objectives set out by the edict

The Ministry of Water Resources operates and maintains one Surface Water Treatment Plant, about 180 boreholes across the state, three infiltration galleries (in Lassa, Uba and Shani) and two water ponds (Chibok and pulka).

The Water Treatment Plant has the capacity of producing 67,000m3/day but currently producing about 28,000m3/day. It covers about 60% of MMC and Jere Local Government Areas.

Translate »
Supportscreen tag